DIY guitar amp in progress pictures, 5F2A inspired

Here are some pictures of my amp in progress. Tooling a steel chassis with nothing but dremel is kind of way too much work bit for my first build ever it’s still worth it.

Here’s the first batch of parts I got in:

20140113-093110.jpg

Vacuum tube power! This is the power amp tube, a 6V6GT made by Electro-Harmonix:

20140113-093220.jpg

And here is the preamp tube, a 12AX7, also from EHX:

20140113-093420.jpg

This is the power supply soldered on the turret board… Next time do wires first and components second, self. Of course at this point my 600V wire hadn’t come in the mail yet.

20140113-093725.jpg

Power Transformer holes on chassis:

20140113-094018.jpg

And here’s where the output transformer will be:

20140113-094109.jpg

Finished turret board in place for reference, no wiring yet lol.

20140113-094213.jpg

Finally got the tube socket holes dremeled out. Never again, lol.

20140113-094323.jpg

Power tube (temporarily) in place next to power transformer. Panel drilled and (temporarily) populated.

20140113-094417.jpg

All front panel and board wiring done. All socket wiring done except for whatever goes to the transformers.

20140113-094552.jpg

All I have left is drilling the output jack, drilling the output transformer wire holes, dremeling the lamp hole, then wiring the output and power connections. Then I can rock out! Oh yeah I do need to finish wiring my old combo as a cabinet before then, but that’s basically done already.

I have spent about $170 building this amp–a new replica would cost at least $600 (and wouldn’t have any of my extra features ;)). Of course I’ve also put at least 10 hours of work. Maybe 15. And that’s not including planning which is probably another 15 or 20. So if I was selling it you could say I was paying myself about $9/hr. Better than I thought! Of course to actually get $600 it would have to be painted and mounted in a nice wooden box with a panel decal, etc.

I was hoping to finish before school started (which is today) but no dice. I might not get to put any work into it until tomorrow, and even then I might only get an hour or two. Hopefully by the weekend I’ll have it knocked out.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “DIY guitar amp in progress pictures, 5F2A inspired”

  1. thecuriousbum Says:

    Man, doing everything with a dremel .. that’s dedication. It’ll be worth it, though.

  2. heidenkind Says:

    Very nice!

  3. doesitevenmatter3 Says:

    Cool!
    It’s fun to see the progress!
    You’re doing an amazing job!
    Good luck in the new semester of school!
    How are you doing?!
    HUGS!!! :-)

Leave a Reply

