Update, lots of DIY thoughts, not much DIY progress

Sorry for no update. Really not that much going on.

Haven’t touched my diy-guitar amp. It still sounds great but no change. Haven’t recorded with it yet. I have a few things I need to do before I am capable of recording anything at all.

I’m thinking about using some hart pine my dad has to construct a cabinet for the amp head. IDK exactly what I’m doing in terms of DIY joinery, but it’s worth a shot. Main problem is that the best tool I own is a dremel. Worst case scenario I just use lots of brackets and screws. Also I have never finished wood. Anyone know the best way to finish hart pine?

Another problem with finishing the amp is that I’ll need to completely disassemble it in order to repaint the chassis. Should have done that first instead of last… oops.

I also just bought materials for etching my own PCB. I’m going to try and throw together a single-transistor dirtbox sometime that I planned a layout for.

I haven’t touched the antique tube radio I bought on ebay. I’ll post about that sometime. It’s going to take quite a bit of work to get restored.

I’ve gotten heavily into a new hobby: mining and trading cryptocurrencies. For the scope of this blog, the less said about it the better, I’m sure. I guess I actually mentioned it in passing last time. I taught myself python so that I could write an automatic daytrading bot. It’s been making me an average of a dollar or two per day, so that’s cool. Python is exactly like how xkcd described it. It makes programming fun again.

I always WANT to blog more and I WANT to record more music and I WANT to make youtube videos but sometimes these things just don’t happen. I scribbled down some music today at least, but unfortunately I have to do things to my computers before they can even record at the quality that I have in mind.

Here, listen to a cover I recorded three years ago:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Update, lots of DIY thoughts, not much DIY progress”

  1. heidenkind Says:

    My mom asked me if she should buy Bitcoins the other day. lol

    • Walker Says:

      Honestly, I think that dogecoin has the most future–it’s not as insanely deflationary as bitcoin and it’s got a massive popular appeal that I think is what will really make people want to use it.

      What does your mom plan on doing with bitcoin? I only hold them so I can daytrade on markets that use them. I hold dogecoin because I actually think it’s going to be worth more in the future.

  2. 0hmyword Says:

    These “coin” things, I’m intrigued. My brain is telling me to investigate such things.

Leave a Reply

