DIY PCB Etching

Did I mention that I’m going to try etching my own PCB for the first time this weekend?

I’m going to do it super quick and dirty: hand drawn traces with nail polish, etched with ferric chloride, etch resist removed with acetone. I make a design for a single-transistor boost/dirtbox and that’s what I’ll be etching. My etchant and my board comes in today in the mail. We’ll see how this goes.

Anyone here ever etched their own PCB? What’s your process like?

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “DIY PCB Etching”

  1. heidenkind Says:

    Sounds like how we used to etch plates in print class.

    • Walker Says:

      Yeah it’s similar. There are other etching processes that are basically the same as screen printing with a transparency and light, etc. Most people actually print out the pattern on glossy paper with high toner and iron it onto the copper.

Leave a Reply

