Silly semi-generative music

I “wrote” a bit of music by writing eight bars of four/four (which are just half notes on chord tones with occasional quarters for passing tones) and then generating sixteen random numbers. The second time through the eight bars I wrote, the first random number tells me which half note to change to a quarter. So each time through the eight bars gets one beat shorter, until the sixteenth time through, when it’s now just eight bars of two/four and only lasts half as long.

At 128 BPM it’ll be three minutes long and make a nice youtube video, I hope. I wish I was better at animations so I could show the score shortening itself.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

