Wood

So I built a guitar amp sometime in the past year, but it’s just a naked chassis and I’ve been meaning to make a head cabinet for it.

IMG_1065.JPG

When my parents built their house they used reclaimed hart pine flooring that my dad recovered from an old house on my grandpa’s property. They had some left over and it’s been sitting in a pile in my dad’s shed since 2001 or so.

This is wood from trees that were cut about 100 years ago, from the centers of old trees, from the first trees to ever be cut from these forests, or so I’ve been told. It’s still just pine, right?

I took four boards to try and use for my amp head cabinet.

IMG_1066.JPG

They’re covered in ancient dirt and dust and paint too. I’m afraid to sand the paint off because of lead, so I got a crappy block plane to try and plane it off.

IMG_1067.JPG

It took a lot more effort than I expected just for that little bit and to be honest I might as well be planing with a chisel. So I might have to take it outside and sand off the paint with the vacuum running before I plane it. The wood is really hard and the plane keeps getting stuck. This one is hard to adjust–you have to get it where you want it then tighten a wheel but if it’s not in the right spot you can’t nudge it any, you have to start over.

It might work better if I sharpened it, so I probably need a way to sharpen it. I figure my actual next task is to make rough cuts to the right size before I waste any more time with the plane.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Wood”

  1. heidenkind Says:

    Can you just leave the paint on? Could give a cool rustic look.

    • Walker Says:

      Well kind of the whole point is that this ancient wood will have a nice natural look to it. Most amps are covered with tolex–only reason I’m not doing that is because I have this particular wood I want to show. The paint doesn’t exactly look good IMO.

  2. doesitevenmatter3 Says:

    Looks like a big job…but will be cool looking when it is complete! :-)
    HUGS!!! :-)

  3. girlforgetful Says:

    Why not use chemical paint stripper?

    • Walker Says:

      That’s exactly what Cameron suggested. TBH I hadn’t thought about it, mostly because I’m worried about the age of the paint and also I’m gonna have to sand and plane anyway. I’m still thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

