Talking about my daily checklist

A few posts back, “thinking about psychology and goals“, I talked about asking myself “what did I do today?” every day. I haven’t really been asking myself every day, but I think I might start noting down worthless statusy things here with regards to that.

I have a daily morning checklist of ten items that it’s my goal to get done in the first hour or two of being awake. I’m aware that to non-depressives it seems ridiculous to have a to-do list with things as basic as the things I have on here, but I thought I might share it anyway. The point of the to-do list is more to promote routine and good habit, rather than be a list of things I’m likely to forget to do if I really need to.

  1. Caffeinate
  2. Medicate
  3. Meditate
  4. Masticate
  5. Exercise
  6. Bathe
  7. Shave
  8. Brush Teeth
  9. Take out trash
  10. Do dishes

Of course I usually end up only doing 3 or 4 of these things in my goal amount of time, but routine is important and powerful, even if you don’t succeed, trying every day helps.

Today I’ve been awake for five hours already and all I’ve done is 1, 2, and 4.

You may have guessed that if I don’t do #1, I don’t do any of the others.

Anyway, today I’m not going to be able to do any woodworking, or any pedalbuilding, or any synth building, or any music recording. My sister is going to move in with me, which means I’m going to have to switch to a larger unit in my apartment complex, so today I don’t get do to anything but deal with paperwork, pack, and hopefully work on school stuff.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll tell you about my ridiculous exercise routine and how successful I’ve been with it.

2 Responses to “Talking about my daily checklist”

  1. heidenkind Says:

    You have a ridiculous exercise routine? Do tell.

    Are you happy about moving in with your sister?

  2. doesitevenmatter3 Says:

    #1 IS important! ;-) I like all the -ate ones! :-D
    HUGS!!! :-)

Leave a Reply

