Bonkers Exercise Routine

Last post I mentioned that I have a somewhat silly exercise routine that I’m relatively proud of.

I’m not really in the mood to wax on about it, but I’ll at least give a description to satisfy curiosity.

The first couple of times I did this routine I just used a stopwatch, but after a while I came up with a very goofy but effective tool to streamline the process.

Basically, the first time I did the routine, I did 10 situps at t=0, then at the 30 second mark I did 5 pushups, and then at the 60 second mark ten more situps, and so and and so on until I did 100 situps and 50 pushups total, in a total of about 10 minutes.

The next day, instead of 30 second intervals, I did 29 second intervals. You get the picture. I eventually bumped up the total to 120 and 60, and I’m now doing that in about 5 minutes 30 seconds. There is no greater feeling than exercising and every day you exercise, feeling like it is LESS like a waste of time.

Of course, using a stopwatch for this process became excessively annoying after a while, so I brainstormed other options. For a week or so I used sounds loaded into audacity, and deleted the necessary seconds of silence each time, but then I thought up an even easier way.

DRUM MACHINE

I set up a pattern in hydrogen, the software drum machine that I use when I produce music, for a very slow tempo and very long measures. At the beginning of each measure it makes one sound, telling me to do situps, and it makes another sound halfway through each measure to indicate pushups. Every day, all I have to do is increment the BPM by one. And if I want to add to the number of sets, I can just click an extra block or two on the pattern.

If this sounds completely bonkers, I’m sorry, but it works great. Also, it’s helped me create a ritual around exercising, and ritual promotes habit, and to be honest I’m of the opinion that having a good habit is more beneficial (at least to depressives like me)  than any actual health gains from the exercise.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Bonkers Exercise Routine”

  1. thecuriousbum Says:

    Nice work. It’s lame not to have enough strength.

  2. heidenkind Says:

    It doesn’t sound bonkers, but I do wonder at what point you’ll decide you’re exercising too fast.

  3. doesitevenmatter3 Says:

    Sounds good to me!
    HUGS!!! :-)

Leave a Reply

